Tinubu Approves Leadership Changes in Health Sector

President Bola Tinubu has greenlit significant leadership changes within Nigeria’s health and social welfare sectors, aiming to fortify the nation’s public health landscape.

The alterations, which encompass pivotal organizations, have been revealed as follows:

National Agency for Food and Drugs Administration and Control (NAFDAC):

Board Chairperson: Dr. Mansur Kabir
Chief Executive Officer: Prof. Moji Adeyeye
National Blood Service Commission (NBSC):

Board Chairperson: Prof. Abba Zubairu
Chief Executive Officer: Dr. Saleh Yuguda
Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCN):

Board Chairperson: Prof. Afolabi Lesi
Chief Executive Officer: Dr. Fatima Kyari
Pharmacy Council of Nigeria (PCN):

Board Chairperson: Pharm. Wasilat Giwa
Chief Executive Officer: Pharm. Ibrahim Ahmed
Medical Laboratory Science Council of Nigeria (MLSCN):

Board Chairperson: Dr. Babajide Salako
Chief Executive Officer: Dr. Tosan Erhabor
Moddibo Adama University Teaching Hospital, Yola (MAUTH):

Chief Medical Director/CEO: Prof. Adamu G. Bakari
Irrua Specialist Teaching Hospital, Irrua (ISTH):

Chief Medical Director/CEO: Prof. Reuben Eifediyi
Furthermore, as part of a broader strategy to enhance Nigeria’s public health surveillance and security architecture, President Tinubu has endorsed the appointment of a new Chief Executive Officer for the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC), set to assume office on February 19, 2024:

Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC):

Director-General / CEO: Dr. Olajide Idris
These developments highlight the government’s proactive stance in addressing healthcare challenges and fostering institutional efficiency. With a renewed leadership cadre, the nation anticipates enhanced performance and effectiveness across key health sectors, affirming its commitment to safeguarding public health and welfare.

Related Articles