Senate Confirms Judges, INEC And NCC Nominees

Supreme CourtThe Senate has confirmed the presidency’s nomination of Sidi Dauda Bage and Paul Adamu Galinje as justices of the Supreme Court.

The duo were confirmed during the plenary today. The lawmakers adopted the report of its committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters.

Chairman of the committee, Senator David Umaru said both Bage and Galinje have sound knowledge of the law. He said they have contributed immensely to the development of the law and enriched the Nigerian legal system. This is through their judgments and rulings as well as seminar presentation.

Umaru added that the confirmation of Justices Bage and Galinje will reflect the principle of the federal character as enshrined in Section 14 (3) of the 1999 Constitution.

He said the committee was satisfied with their competence, experience, suitability, qualifications and integrity. Hence, the recommendation for the confirmation of their nominations.

Confirms 6 INEC Commissioners, 1 NDDC Board Members

Meanwhile, the Senate also confirmed six INEC commissioners nominated by the President, Muhammadu Buhari.

The new INEC commissioners are Prof. Okechukwu Obinna Ibeanu (South-East); May Agbamuche-Mbu (South-South); AVM Ahmed Tijani Mu’Azu (North-East); Mohammed Kudu Haruna (North-Central); Dr Adekunle Ladipo Ogunmola (South-West); and Abubakar Ahmed Nahuche (North-West).

The Red Chamber also confirmed the nomination of Mr. Igo Weli as a board member of the NDDC.

Confirms Durojaiye, Drops 2 Others

Also, during plenary on Thursday, the senate confirmed the nominations of Chief Olabiyi Durojaiye as chairman of the Governing Board of the Nigeria Communications Commission (NCC). It also confirmed four others as commissioners in the Commission.

The confirmed commissioners include Sunday Dare (Executive Commissioner); Clement Omeiza Baiye (Non-Executive Commissioner); Chief Okoi Ofem Obonobia (Non-Executive Commissioner); and Senator Ifeanyi Ararume (Non-Executive Commissioner).

However, the Senate Committee on Communications rejected two of the nominees – Aliyu Sa’idu Abubakar (Stakeholders Management) and Pastor Ezekiel Yissa (Non-Executive Commissioner). They were not recommended for confirmation for certain reasons.

The Upper Chamber has also approved a bill seeking the establishment of the National Poverty Eradication Commission, 2016.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *