Pickford Given England No 1 Jersey For World Cup

Jordan Pickford/thesun.co.uk

Jordan Pickford has been handed the England No 1 shirt for this summer’s World Cup in Russia after England officially submitted their 23-man squad to FIFA.

The Everton goalkeeper looks set to be Gareth Southgate’s first choice in Russia rather than Jack Butland and Nick Pope, who have been given the No 13 and 23 jerseys respectively.

Pickford played the full 90 minutes in England’s 2-1 win over Nigeria at Wembley on Saturday in what was just his third England senior cap.

England captain Harry Kane will wear the No 9 shirt having worn No 10 for Tottenham this season.

Raheem Sterling has been given the number 10 jersey while Dele Alli sticks with his Spurs squad number of 20.

Uncapped Trent-Alexander Arnold has been handed the number 22 shirt and will be hoping to make his England debut in their final warm-up match against Costa Rica at Elland Road on Thursday.

England’s World Cup opener is against Tunisia on June 18 in Volgograd.

England World Cup squad numbers:

1. Jordan Pickford
2. Kyle Walker
3. Danny Rose
4. Eric Dier
5. John Stones
6. Harry Maguire
7. Jesse Lingard
8. Jordan Henderson
9. Harry Kane
10. Raheem Sterling
11. Jamie Vardy
12. Kieran Trippier
13. Jack Butland
14. Danny Welbeck
15. Gary Cahill
16. Phil Jones
17. Fabian Delph
18. Ashley Young
19. Marcus Rashford
20. Dele Alli
21. Ruben Loftus-Cheek
22. Trent Alexander-Arnold
23. Nick Pope

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.