Nigeria Lifts ECOWAS Sanctions on Niger

ECOWAS Chairman President Bola Tinubu on Wednesday directed the opening of Nigeria’s land and air borders with the Republic of Niger and the lifting of other sanctions against Niger Republic with immediate effect in compliance with the decisions of the ECOWAS Authority of Heads of State and Government at its extraordinary summit on February 24, 2024, in Abuja.

During the meeting, ECOWAS leaders also agreed to lift economic sanctions against the Republic of Niger, Mali, Burkina Faso, and Guinea.

Here are the sanctions imposed on the Republic of Niger which Tinubu ordered to be lifted immediately:

(1) Closure of land and air borders between Nigeria and Niger Republic, as well as ECOWAS no-fly zone on all commercial flights to and from Niger Republic.

(2) Suspension of all commercial and financial transactions between Nigeria and Niger, as well as freeze of all service transactions, including utility services and electricity to Niger Republic.

(3) Freeze of assets of the Republic of Niger in ECOWAS Central Banks and freeze of assets of the Republic of Niger, state enterprises, and parastatals in commercial banks.

(4) Suspension of Niger from all financial assistance and transactions with all financial institutions, particularly EBID and BOAD.

(5) Travel bans on government officials and their family members.

In addition to the above, I have also approved the lifting of financial and economic sanctions against the Republic of Guinea.

Related Articles