Kebbi State Government Dissolves 21 Local Government Councils

Gov. Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi state.

Kebbi State Government had dissolved twenty-one local government councils chairmen and councilors following the expiration of their tenure on July 24.

The Kebbi Government on Wednesday dissolved the 21 local government councils’ chairmen following the expiration of their tenure on July 24.

Concise News gathered that the Chief Press Secretary to Gov. Atiku Bagudu, Abubakar Dakingari made this known in a statement he released in Birinin Kebbi state on Wednesday.

“The Kebbi State Government has directed all chairmen of local government councils to hand over the affairs of the local governments to the Secretary of Local Government of their area,” Dakingari said.

He said the action followed the expiration of the tenure of local government chairmen and councilors on July 24.

“An official circular from the Permanent Secretary, Ministry for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Alhaji Muhammad Umar, indicated that the chairmen and councilors were elected for two- year tenure.

”They were also sworn into office on the 24th of July, 2017,” he said.

Dakingari said the state government appreciated the outgoing chairmen and councilors for their selfless contribution to the development of the grassroots.

“The governor wished the outgoing chairmen and councilor Allah’s guidance in their future endeavour,” Dakingari said.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.