INEC Inaugurates Planning Committee For 2019 General Elections

INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood YakubuTwitter

By Ige Olugbenga

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on Thursday, inaugurated an Election Project Plan Committee (EPPC).

The committee is charged with the responsibility of planning for the 2019 general elections.

This is contained in a statement issued by Adedeji Soyebi, INEC national commissioner and chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee.

The statement also disclosed that the Commission also approved the 2017-2021 Strategic Plan for immediate implementation, following its validation by stakeholders.

The inaugurated committee chaired by a national commissioner, Prof Okechukwu Ibeanu with Ndeche Okechukwu, director, planning and monitoring as cecretary is to coordinate all departments and state inputs into planning for the elections.

The committee is also to monitor the performance of the two-year budget for the general elections, identify gaps and advise the commission appropriately.

The committee is to produce a comprehensive, cost estimate Election Project Plan (EPP) for the commission’s approval and also ensure the integration of the EPP and the EMS for effective implementation and monitoring.


The statement quoted INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmoud Yakubu, as asking its members to immediately devote themselves to ensuring that the 2019 general elections are better than the previous ones.

Yakubu also charged the committee members to commence the implementation of the Strategic Plan 2017-2021 and to ensure the actualisation of all its envisaged goals.

Chairman of the Committee, lbeanu pledged that members would immediately devote themselves to the onerous task of making the 2019 general elections a success.

Ibeanu added that the members regarded the assignment as a great honour and privilege for which no stone will be left unturned to achieve the commission’s goals.

Members of the committee are national commissioners Dr Adekunle Ogunmola, Abubakar Nahuche, Prof. Bolade Eyinla, chief technical adviser to INEC chairman and Prof Mohammad Kuna, special adviser to the chairman.

The members also include Rotimi Oyekanmi, chief press secretary to INEC chairman; Prof Abubakar Momoh, director-general, electoral institute, AT Yusuf, director, operations, and Chidi Nwafor, director of ICT.

Others are lro Gambo, Director, voter registration, Aminu ldris, Director, EPM; Oluwatoyin Babalola director, legal services, Ruth Endeley, director, estate and works, Oluwole Osaze-Uzi, director, voter education & publicity, and Kenneth Ukeagu, director, procurement.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *