INEC Declares Rotimi Akeredolu Winner Of Ondo Election

akeredolu-apcINEC has declared the candidate of All Progressive Congress, APC, Rotimi Akeredolu, winner of the Ondo 2016 gubernatorial election.

Akeredolu has fulfilled INEC’s requirement by winning majority votes in general and winning at least 25% of votes cast also.

Final results

1. Rotimi Akeredolu APC – 244,842
2. Eyitayo Jegede PDP – 150,380
3. Olusola Oke AD – 126, 889

Akeredolu beats his closest rival Eyitayo Jegede of PDP with 94,462 votes.

In his acceptance speech, the governor-elect promised to run a purposeful government that would fizzle out ethnicity among the people.

He also promised to embark on agricultural programmes that would encourage youths to go back to farming, to boost food production and reduce hunger and unemployment.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *