Biden Announces Delegation For Tinubu Inauguration

President Joe Biden has announced a Presidential Delegation that will attend the inauguration of Bola Ahmed Tinubu as President of Nigeria on May 29, 2023, in Abuja.

In a statement late Monday, the United States said it is honoured to send a group of esteemed officials to participate in this momentous occasion, symbolizing the strong and longstanding partnership between the two nations.

Secretary Marcia L. Fudge, the distinguished head of the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development, has been selected to lead the Presidential Delegation. Secretary Fudge’s leadership and dedication to public service make her an ideal representative for the United States on this important visit.

The Presidential Delegation comprises a diverse group of individuals who will each bring their expertise and perspective to the event. The members of the delegation are as follows:

  1. Mr. David Greene, Chargé d’Affaires, a.i., U.S. Embassy Abuja: Mr. Greene, representing the U.S. Embassy in Abuja, will play a vital role in fostering diplomatic relations between the two nations.
  2. The Honorable Sydney Kamlager-Dove, United States Representative (D), California: Representative Kamlager-Dove’s inclusion in the delegation highlights the significance of Nigerian-American relations and the importance of cooperation at the federal level.
  3. The Honorable Marisa Lago, Under Secretary of Commerce for International Trade, U.S. Department of Commerce: Under Secretary Lago’s expertise in commerce and international trade will contribute to discussions on strengthening economic ties between the United States and Nigeria.
  4. General Michael E. Langley, Commander of U.S. Africa Command: General Langley’s presence emphasizes the commitment of the United States to security and defense cooperation in the region.
  5. The Honorable Enoh T. Ebong, Director, U.S. Trade and Development Agency: Director Ebong’s role in the delegation underscores the focus on trade and development opportunities between the two countries.
  6. The Honorable Mary Catherine Phee, Assistant Secretary of State for the Bureau of African Affairs, U.S. Department of State: Assistant Secretary Phee’s expertise in African affairs will contribute to discussions on diplomatic engagement and regional cooperation.
  7. The Honorable Judd Devermont, Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director for African Affairs, National Security Council: Special Assistant Devermont’s presence reflects the importance of African affairs on the United States’ foreign policy agenda.
  8. The Honorable Monde Muyangwa, Assistant Administrator for the Bureau for Africa, U.S. Agency for International Development: Assistant Administrator Muyangwa’s involvement highlights the commitment of the United States to supporting development and humanitarian initiatives in Africa.

With this distinguished and diverse group of officials, the United States is reaffirming its commitment to strengthening the bilateral relationship with Nigeria and fostering collaboration in various fields of mutual interest.

Related Articles